Maj Westh Johansen

April 15, 2024

Claus Valentin Hemmingsen appointed new Chair of the Board of Directors at Ramboll Group

The Ramboll Foundation has appointed Claus Valentin Hemmingsen as new Chair of the Board of Directors at Ramboll Group. He succeeds Jeff Gravenhorst, who steps down after nine years in the role. 

Chair of the Board of Directors, Claus Hemmingsen
One of the heavyweights of the Danish business world, and an experienced board chair, Claus Valentin Hemmingsen steps into a new role as Chair of the Board of Directors at Ramboll Group. This follows his role as Deputy Chair of the Group Board the past year, and a distinguished career including as former Vice CEO of A.P. Moller - Maersk and CEO of the company’s Energy Division.
Helle Østergaard Kristiansen, CEO of the international energy trading company Danske Commodities, also joins as new Deputy Chair of Ramboll Group's Board of Directors.
"Ramboll is a company with a long history and strong values, an extremely high potential, and a clear strategy that guides Ramboll forward on how the company should contribute to driving sustainable change for clients and society. I am happy and proud of the trust that the Ramboll Foundation and Board have vested in me. As a global architecture, engineering, and consultancy company within sustainability and the green transition, Ramboll has a significant and important task in contributing to a more sustainable society. I look forward to supporting Ramboll in executing the strategy and this important work in a close and open collaboration with Ramboll’s executive leadership, the Ramboll Foundation, and the Board," says Claus Valentin Hemmingsen.
Chairman of the Ramboll Foundation, Robert Arpe, says:
"We welcome Claus Valentin Hemmingsen as the Chair of the Ramboll Group Board. Claus has an international outlook, in-depth business understanding, and is a strong leader for the further strategic development of Ramboll Group as a global role model and partner for sustainable change. With his extensive experience in the opportunities that foundation ownership provides, the Ramboll Foundation Board looks forward to collaborating with Claus and the Group Board in developing the company in line with our strong purpose and values in an expanding geographical footprint."
He continues: "I would also like to thank Jeff Gravenhorst for his 13 years as a member of Ramboll's board, the last nine as Chair. During Jeff's time as Chair, Ramboll has doubled in size and truly become a global company that today generates 75% of its revenue outside of Denmark. This is due not least to Jeff's visionary leadership as Chair, his strong values and opinions, and his sharp focus on creating a board that creates genuine value for Ramboll."
About Claus Valentin Hemmingsen
Claus Valentin Hemmingsen worked for A.P. Moller - Maersk for almost four decades, during which he held several senior positions. He was CEO of Maersk Drilling from 2005 to 2016 and was instrumental in making the company one of the leaders in the industry. In 2007, he joined the executive leadership team at A.P. Moller - Maersk, and from 2016 served as Group Vice CEO and head of the Energy Division.
Claus Valentin Hemmingsen has been a professional board member since 2019. In addition to the Ramboll Group, he is Chair of the Board at shipping and logistics company DFDS, property developer HusCompagniet, and the geothermal company Innargi, and a board member of several other companies, including A.P. Moller Holding, Noble Corporation, and Global Maritime Forum.
About Helle Østergaard Kristiansen
Helle Østergaard Kristiansen has been instrumental in shaping Danske Commodities and growing the organisation from 30 to more than 500 employees today. She previously served as CRO and CFO before becoming CEO in 2019. She has been named one of Fortune Magazine's 50 international most powerful women three times. Currently, she is a member of the Board of Directors at logistics company DSV, software developer Systematic, and the ARoS art museum.
The Board of Directors at Ramboll Group consists of the following board members:
  • Claus Valentin Hemmingsen - Chair of the Group Board and Chair of the Remuneration Committee
  • Helle Østergaard Kristiansen - Deputy Chair of the Group Board and Member of the Remuneration Committee and the Transaction Committee
  • Alun Griffiths - Group Board Member, Chair of the Transaction Committee and Member of the Remuneration Committee
  • Anne Broeng - Group Board Member and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee
  • Lieve Declercq - Group Board Member and Member of the Transaction Committee
  • Thomas Gregers Honore - Group Board Member and Member of the Audit and Risk Committee
  • Helene Bekker* - Group Board Member and Member of the Transaction Committee
  • Joan Hee Roldsgaard* - Group Board Member
  • Michael Uhrlund Staunstrup* - Group Board Member
*Employee elected

Want to know more?

  • Jens-Peter Saul

    Group CEO

    +45 51 61 10 00

    Jens-Peter Saul
  • Søren Staugaard Nielsen

    Managing Director

    +45 5161 1000

    Søren Staugaard Nielsen
  • Maj Westh Johansen

    Media Relations Managers in Denmark

    +45 51 61 18 93

    Maj Westh Johansen